Wednesday, February 21, 2018
Thursday, 29 June 2017 11:24

Reggae Boyz Gold Cup squad revealed | Teddy Johnson among eight local-based players included

Written by 
Rate this item
(1 Vote)
Goalkeeper Andre Blake Goalkeeper Andre Blake Photo: Courtesy of

Veteran Reggae Boy Jermaine ‘Teddy’ Johnson is among eight local-based players named in the final 23-man Jamaica squad for the CONCACAF Gold Cup which kicks off on July 7, 2017 in the United States.

The 37-year-old Tivoli Gardens FC striker’s rich form in the just concluded Red Stripe Premier League has earned him yet another selection following his inclusion to the Caribbean Cup squad.

Other local-based players in the squad are Arnett Gardens FC goalkeeper Damian Hyatt; defenders Ladale Richie of Montego Bay FC and Harbour View’s Rosario Harriott; Portmore United midfield trio of Michael Binns, Ewan Grandison and Ricardo Morris.

Striker Owayne Gordon of Montego Bay FC is among seven forwards named including overseas-based Darren Mattocks and Dever Orgill.

Top goalkeeper Andre Blake of the Philadelphia Union; Jermaine Taylor, Alvas Powell, Je-Vaughn Watson and Kemar Lawrence are all included and are among some the players who were instrumental in getting 2015 team to the final where they lost to Mexico.

No English-based players were named on the list made public by the Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF).

“In accordance with the competition regulations, injury-related changes will be allowed to the final 23-player rosters for the group stage until 24 hours before each team’s first match. Any injury replacements must come from the announced preliminary 40-player rosters and must be approved by the Gold Cup medical committee,” the organizers noted.

“As in past years, teams that qualify for the quarterfinals of this year's Gold Cup will be permitted to amend their 23-player roster following the group stage, by replacing up to six players with new players from the 40-player provisional rosters announced on Wednesday, June 7, 2017.”

The 14th edition of the continental championship will begin Friday, July 7 at Red Bull Arena in the New York-New Jersey metropolitan area. That opening double header features a Group A match-up of perennial Central American rivals, Honduras and Costa Rica and 2000 champion Canada facing newcomer French Guiana.

Group B will kick off on July 8, in Nashville, with a rematch of the 2015 Gold Cup third-place match between USA and Panama, followed by Martinique and Nicaragua.

Defending champion Mexico will begin its title defence on July 9 in San Diego, versus El Salvador as the second match of a doubleheader. Curacao and Jamaica will begin play in Group C in the first match of that day.

JAMAICA GOLD CUP SQUAD GOALKEEPERS (3): Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union, USA); Damion Hyatt (Arnett Gardens FC, JAM); Dwayne Miller (Valsta Syrianska IK, SWE)

DEFENDERS (8): Sergio Campbell (Pittsburgh Riverhounds, USA); Oniel Fisher (Seattle Sounders FC , USA); Rosario Harriott (Harbour View FC, JAM); Kemar Lawrence (New York Red Bulls, USA); Damion Lowe (Tampa Bay Rowdies, USA); Alvas Powell (Portland Timbers, USA); Ladale Richie (Montego Bay United FC, JAM); Jermaine Taylor (Minnesota United FC, USA)

MIDFIELDERS (5): Michael Binns (Portmore United FC, JAM); Ewan Grandison (Portmore United FC, JAM); Kevon Lambert (FK Vojvodina, SRB); Ricardo Morris (Portmore United FC, JAM); Je-Vaughn Watson (New England Revolution, USA)

FORWARDS (7): Cory Burke (Bethlehem Steel FC, USA); Owayne Gordon (Montego Bay United FC, JAM); Jermaine Johnson (Tivoli Gardens FC, JAM); Darren Mattocks (Portland Timbers, USA); Shamar Nicholson (Boys' Town FC, JAM); Dever Orgill (Wolfsberger AC, AUT); Romario Williams (Charleston Battery, USA)

Read 1275 times

Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

MUST READ Articles

News Feed - Sports